Present and Future Perspectives of Materials and Life Science Using VUV Synchrotron Radiation

Hiroshima University Faculty Club, March 2-3, 2017.


Oral Session

The symposium will be held on the second floor of Faculty Club.

DAY 1 ・Thursday, 2 March, 2017
   Opening Chairperson: K. Shimada
  09:30 - 09:50 Opening address
Fusahito Yoshia (Vice President, Hiroshima University, Japan)

Overview of HiSOR Activities
Hirofumi Namatame (Director, Synchrotron Radiation Center, Hiroshima University, Japan)
  09:50 - 10:15 Symposium Photo
   Oral Session 1 (Spin-Resolved Photoemission Spectroscopy) Chairperson: K. Miyamoto
  10:15 - 10:45 Phil D. C. King   (University of St Andrews, United Kingdom)
"Electronic structure, interactions, and spin-orbit coupling at the surfaces of delafossite oxide metals"
  10:45 - 11:15 Oleg E. Treschenko   (Novosibirsk State University, Russia)
"Low-energy photoemission from final states of quantized surface subbands of GaAs(001) with negative electron affinity via electron-phonon coupling"
  11:15 - 11:35 Taichi Okuda   (Hiroshima University, Japan)
"Spin-Resolved Photoemission for the Investigation of Hidden Spin Polarized States"
  11:35 - 12:35 Flash poster session Chairperson: T. Okuda
  12:35 - 14:00 Lunch
  14:00 - 15:30

Poster Session + coffee break Chairperson: H. Sato

   Oral Session 2 (VUV-CD Spectroscopy of Biomaterials) Chairperson: Y. Izumi
  15:30 - 16:00 Jin-Hong Kim   (Korea Atomic Energy Research Institute, Republic of Korea)
"Structural and functional modifications of chromatin and antioxidant proteins on exposure to gamma radiation"
  16:00 - 16:30 Bart Kahr   (New York University, USA)
"The Mueller Matrix Approach to Circular Extinction"
  16:30 - 16:50 Koichi Matsuo   (Hiroshima University, Japan)
"Present status and future plan of VUVCD spectrophotometer at HiSOR"
  16:50 - 17:10 Coffee break
   Oral Session 3 (Soft X-Ray MCD of Surface Nano Structures) Chairperson: M. Sawada
  17:10 - 17:40 Sergey Suturin   (Ioffe Physical-Technical Institute, Russia)
"Structural studies of α-, γ-, ε-Fe2O3 and Fe3O4 ferroic epitaxial films on GaN by RHEED/XRD three dimensional reciprocal space mapping"
  17:40 - 18:10 Luca Pasquali   (University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Italy)
"Resonant Soft X-ray Reflectivity for the quantitative investigation of anisotropic layered materials"
  18:40 - 20:40

Welcome Reception

DAY 2 ・Friday, 3 March, 2017
   Oral Session 4 (Light Sources) Chairperson: S. Matsuba
  09:00 - 09:30 Kentaro Harada   (High Energy Accelerator Research, Japan)
"Development of low emittance electron storage ring"
  09:30 - 09:50 Keigo Kawase   (Hiroshima University, Japan)
"Light sources development at HiSOR"
  09:50 - 10:10 Coffee break
   Oral Session 5 (High-Resolution Photoemission Spectroscopy) Chairperson: E. F. Schwier
  10:10 - 10:40 Claude Monney   (University of Zurich, Switzerland)
"Time-Resolved Photoemission of Ordered Phases in Low-Dimensional Materials"
  10:40 - 11:10 Jonathon M. Riley   (University of St Andrews, United Kingdom)
"Angle-Resolved Photoemission Investigation of in-situ grown thin film EuO"
  11:10 - 11:30 Kenya Shimada   (Hiroshima University, Japan)
"Present status and future plan of high-resolution ARPES at HiSOR"
  11:30 - 11:40 Closing
Kenya Shimada (Hiroshima University, Japan)

Poster Session

The poster sessions will take place at Faculty Club on Thursday, March 2nd from 14:00 to 15:30. Posters can be set up from 8:30 on Thursday, and must be taken down by 18:10 on Thursday.

Poster Preparation
Poster should be prepared in the portrait format size A0: 90 cm (width) x 120 cm (height).
We will provide the mounting materials (pushpins).

Best Student Poster Award
We will present the Best Student Poster Award. The winner will be announced during the welcome Reception of the symposium.


2-313 Kagamiyama, Higashi-Hiroshima City, 739-0046 JAPAN
Tel. +81 82 424 6293
Fax. +81 82 424 6294